Cornell Tree Climbing Institute

Basic Rock Climbing - TH Section 1

Basic Rock Climbing - TH Section 1

This special section of rock climbing provides you with an alternative to a full afternoon class. If you don't have all afternoon free, or if you would like shorter classes then you have the option of signing up for section 1, from 1:25 to 3:25 or section two, from 3:35 to 5:35. As always, our Basic Rock Climbing course requires NO PREVIOUS EXPERIENCE. We will introduce you to rock climbing equipment, knots, rope handling, belaying, rappelling, safety, and various climbing techniques. Classes have at least a 1:4 instructor-to-student ratio, ensuring a high degree of individual attention. Graduates of the class will be certified to belay at the Lindseth Climbing Wall. Attendance Policy: You may miss one class and still receive credit.


Course Schedule

Date Time Activity
Thu Sep 19 1:25 pm - 3:25 pm Wall
Thu Sep 26 1:25 pm - 3:25 pm Wall
Thu Oct 3 1:25 pm - 3:25 pm Wall
Thu Oct 10 1:25 pm - 3:25 pm Wall
Thu Oct 17 1:25 pm - 3:25 pm Wall
Thu Oct 24 1:25 pm - 3:25 pm Wall
Thu Oct 31 1:25 pm - 3:25 pm Wall
Thu Nov 7 1:25 pm - 3:25 pm Wall
Thu Nov 14 1:25 pm - 3:25 pm Wall
Thu Nov 21 1:25 pm - 3:25 pm Wall

Enroll Now

Courses are open to everyone. Students can enroll on Student Center. Anyone may also enroll by contacting Amy Woodin:

Amy Woodin
akw2@cornell.edu
(607) 255-6183

The Essentials

Prerequisites: None.
Course Fee:
$265.00 (students)
$290.00 (CU faculty/staff)
$330.00 (community)
 
Interested in Financial Assistance? Download an application and see if you qualify.
 
Drop Deadline:
Monday, September 2, 2013
PE Credit
Available for PE credit.
P ED 1640e (ID #10097)
 
Course Coordinator
Rob Cook
rjc288@cornell.edu
(607) 254-8255

First Class:
Attendance at first class is required. Bring completed medical forms and health insurance information.

Equipment Needed:
N/A