Cornell Tree Climbing Institute

Basic Rock Climbing - Thursday Section 1

Basic Rock Climbing - Thursday Section 1

This special section of rock climbing provides you with an alternative to a full afternoon class. If you don't have all afternoon free, or if you would like shorter classes then you have the option of signing up for section 1, from 1:25 to 3:25 or section two, from 3:35 to 5:35. As always, our Basic Rock Climbing course requires NO PREVIOUS EXPERIENCE. We will introduce you to rock climbing equipment, knots, rope handling, belaying, rappelling, safety, and various climbing techniques. Classes have at least a 1:4 instructor-to-student ratio, ensuring a high degree of individual attention. Graduates of the class will be certified to belay at the Lindseth Climbing Wall. Attendance Policy: You may miss one class and still receive credit.


Course Schedule

Date Time Activity
Thu Feb 6 1:25 pm - 3:25 pm Wall
Thu Feb 13 1:25 pm - 3:25 pm Wall
Thu Feb 20 1:25 pm - 3:25 pm Wall
Thu Feb 27 1:25 pm - 3:25 pm Wall
Thu Mar 6 1:25 pm - 3:25 pm Wall
Thu Mar 13 1:25 pm - 3:25 pm Wall
Thu Mar 20 1:25 pm - 3:25 pm Wall
Thu Mar 27 1:25 pm - 3:25 pm Wall
Thu Apr 10 1:25 pm - 3:25 pm Wall
Thu Apr 17 1:25 pm - 3:25 pm Wall

The Essentials

Prerequisites: None.
Course Fee:
$275.00 (students)
$300.00 (CU faculty/staff)
$345.00 (community)
 
Interested in Financial Assistance? Download an application and see if you qualify.
 
Drop Deadline:
Friday, January 24, 2014
PE Credit
Available for PE credit.
P ED 1640 (ID #9756)
 
Course Coordinator
Rob Cook
rjc288@cornell.edu
(607) 254-8255

First Class:
Attendance at first class is required. Bring completed medical forms and health insurance information.

Equipment Needed:
N/A