Cornell Tree Climbing Institute

Outdoor Birding Basics

Outdoor Birding Basics

Come join us as we watch the migration come to life throughout the early spring. Learn to identify and understand the behaviors of the birds in our area. This course is offered as a collaboration of COE and the Lab of Ornithology. Sibleys guide to Eastern Birds is included in the course fee, and optics will be available to use during each outing.


Course Schedule

Date Time Activity
Thu Mar 28 8:00 am - 10:00 am Class
Tue Apr 2 8:00 am - 10:00 am Outing
Thu Apr 4 8:00 am - 10:00 am Outing
Tue Apr 9 8:00 am - 10:00 am Outing
Thu Apr 11 8:00 am - 10:00 am Outing
Tue Apr 16 8:00 am - 10:00 am Outing
Thu Apr 18 8:00 am - 10:00 am Outing
Tue Apr 23 8:00 am - 10:00 am Outing
Thu Apr 25 8:00 am - 10:00 am Outing
Tue Apr 30 8:00 am - 10:00 am Outing
Thu May 2 8:00 am - 10:00 am Outing

The Essentials

Prerequisites: None.
Course Fee:
$175.00 (students)
$190.00 (CU faculty/staff)
$220.00 (community)
 
Interested in Financial Assistance? Download an application and see if you qualify.
 
Drop Deadline:
Friday, January 25, 2013
PE Credit
Available for PE credit.
P ED 1606 (ID #16653)
 
Course Coordinator
Chris Leeming
csl45@cornell.edu
(607) 255-6273

First Class:
Attendance at first class is required. Bring completed medical forms and health insurance information.

Equipment Needed:
daypack, waterbottle, raincoat, sturdy shoes or hiking boots, extra layers, dress to be outside

See the equipment list for this course. You may also find our list of Sources of Outdoor Gear helpful.