Cornell Tree Climbing Institute

Wilderness First Responder - Winter Break

Wilderness First Responder - Winter Break

This 8-day, 80-hour course, provides the prerequisite training and certification necessary for employment as a professional outdoor instructor at nationally recognized programs such as NOLS and Outward Bound. The curriculum goes beyond the basics needed for first aid certification to emphasize the skills and knowledge needed in backcountry rescue situations when extended care may be needed.


Course Schedule

Date Time Activity
Thu Nov 29 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm Class
Thu Jan 3 9:00 am - 6:00 pm Class
Fri Jan 4 8:00 am - 6:00 pm Class
Sat Jan 5 8:00 am - 6:00 pm Class
Sun Jan 6 8:00 am - 6:00 pm Class
Mon Jan 7 8:00 am - 6:00 pm Class
Wed Jan 9 8:00 am - 6:00 pm Class
Thu Jan 10 8:00 am - 6:00 pm Class
Fri Jan 11 8:00 am - 6:00 pm Class

The Essentials

Prerequisites: Please note: Due to contractual obligations this course is available only to Cornell Students, Faculty, and Staff. Attendance at all class meetings is required in order to test for certification.
Course Fee:
$795.00 (students)
$795.00 (CU faculty/staff)
$0.00 (community)
 
Interested in Financial Assistance? Download an application and see if you qualify.
 
Drop Deadline:
Thursday, August 30, 2012
PE Credit
Available for PE credit.
P ED 1626 (ID #9688)
 
Course Coordinator
Benjamin Blakeley
brb4@cornell.edu
(607) 254-8264

First Class:
Attendance at first class is required. Bring completed medical forms and health insurance information.

Equipment Needed:
Class will spend significant time outdoors, rain or shine, so appropriate clothing for varied weather is necessary. Daypack, lunch, water bottle, snacks, notebook and pencil.

See the equipment list for this course. You may also find our list of Sources of Outdoor Gear helpful.